Elk Management Tours

After more than a 100-year absence from the Mountain State, elk are making a comeback in West Virginia and you have a chance to see these incredible animals up close in a natural habitat.

Our guided elk viewing tours are the best way to learn about the history of elk management in West Virginia and what the West Virginia Division of Natural Resources is doing to make sure the growing elk herd thrives in its new home.

Tours start at Chief Logan Lodge and spots book up fast, so make a reservation as soon as possible. While there is no guarantee you will see or hear elk, park naturalist and tour leader Lauren Cole makes these tours a fun experience you don’t want to miss!


Elk Management Tour Schedule

MORNING TOUR

  • Saturday, Sept. 11
  • Sunday, Sept. 12
  • Saturday, Sept. 25
  • Sunday, Sept. 26
  • Saturday, Oct. 9
  • Sunday, Oct. 10
  • Saturday, Oct. 16
  • Sunday, Oct. 17
  • Saturday, Oct. 23
  • Sunday, Oct. 24

EVENING TOUR

  • Sunday, Sept. 19
  • Thursday, Sept. 23
  • Saturday, Sept. 25
  • Sunday, Sept. 26
  • Thursday, Sept. 30
  • Sunday, Oct. 3
  • Saturday, Oct. 9
  • Sunday, Oct. 10
  • Saturday, Oct. 16
  • Sunday, Oct. 17
  • Saturday, Oct. 23
  • Sunday, Oct. 24

DETAILS

Time: Morning tours start at 5:30 a.m. Evening tours start at 4 p.m. Tours last 4 hours.

Location: Tours start and end at Chief Logan Lodge.

Cost: $30 — includes transportation, breakfast or snack, guide and support staff, interpretative presentation and a souvenir.

Age: Tours limited to guests 12 and older

Attire: Closed-toed, sturdy footwear and long pants are suggested. Scented products, such as perfume, cologne, are discouraged.

Other: Guests are not allowed to bring food or pets.

Find a Park

  • Activity
  • Region
  • Lodging